This ride aint free

Every morning I shave. Almost every morning. I’m not sure why, but I hate shaving. It doesn’t casue me pain or anything, I just hate it it’s anoying. I noticed that I do something funny while I do it though. I tell knock knock jokes. Just kidding, that’s not funny. For some reason, when I shave my mustache region, I shave right up the middle first. I have this fear that if I start on each side and work towards the middle, my electric razor will die and I will be stuck with a patch of hair right in the middle. Yes, like Hitler. This is worry is probably not valid because I could always finish with a regular razor. This got me thinking this morning. Hands down Hitler was one of the most terrible men to live on this earth. No question. It’s just interesting to me that if someone has a mustache like that, racism is the first thing that comes to mind. Also, was that fashionable then? I mean I guess it was sort of right? What about Charlie Chaplain? My head is pretty much bald by all definitions. If I wear glasses and wear a diaper, will Ghandi pop into peoples heads?

Anyway, I started thinking of mustaches after that. As much as I think mustaches are great, they are really sort of a pain in the ass. A while back I tried a beard for a while. It wasn’t so bad. Of course some of my friends wondered about me. Not because I grew a beard, but because I couldn’t really grow a beard. It came out really splotchy. Eventually it looked better, but it took a really long time. I had made a deal with my lady friend that when I shaved it off, I would leave a trucker/70’s mustache like this.

Of course, I obeyed, expecting to just shave it off right away. It was amazing how fast I became (for lack of better words) attached to it. I soon discovered how much of a pain it was to shave around it everyday. If a stoner at Subway is considered an artist, I was a Stache Sculptor. So, I soon shaved that off as well. This is not to say, that I don’t respect a well groomed push broom. Magnum PI, enough said.

For me personally, I think either shave everything or nothing at all. (Except my crazy bushy eyebrows) I am partial to this one.

It’s also interesting to me that at some point having a mustache went from being manly (think Burt Reynolds circa 1975) to being creepy (think Burt Reynolds circa 2009). The exception is the indie band/hipster stache. It really amazes me how a mustache can change how someone looks, sometimes making them unrecognizable. Case in point, Curtis James Jackson III.

Sorry, Fitty, but you look like someones boyfriend at Sing Sing. I’m not really sure when it happened, but we really did decide that at some point it was either ironic or inappropriate to have a mustache. Perfect example: When I told my future old lady that I wanted all of the groomsmen to grow a mustache for the wedding, she almost threw up. Thirty years ago she would have said, no but because it would make it hard to pay attention to me with all of the hot staches behind me. So, no crumb catcher for me.

Mustaches, creepy or cool?

Talk amongst yourselves.

3 Responses to This ride aint free

  1. Kevin says:

    I tend to keep some sort of facial hair. The mustache comes and goes.

    http://www.ftmguide.org/facialhair.html

    My personal opinion is that unless you do something cool like the horseshoe, the mustache cannot stand alone – you need some other facial hair to go with the mustache.

  2. karly says:

    Wait wait wait, so Sarah DIDN’T want your groomsmen to partake in what may be the best wedding idea of all time? And here I was just telling her how great you two are together. Man, i have a rough email to write in front of me.

  3. Mr. Friend says:

    I want a cool mustache so bad I made a cartoon character with one.

Leave a comment