Two Girls One Pool

I had a great Memorial Day weekend. I guess summer is pretty much here. Time for swimming and what not. Just be careful not to catch a disease from that public pool. I used to not really be a germ fearing individual. I was that type of guy that would by new underwear and not even bother washing them before wearing them. I mean does anyone personally know sombody who developed a rash from this? Doesn’t matter. Thanks to the internet and some graphic pictures, I will not even think about doning a pair of undies before boiling them first. Same with new dishes/cookware. We just got a shoot-ton of new stuff from our registry including an ice cream maker and a grill sold by a former boxer. Of course I made ice cream right away after first thouroughly washing all the parts. I mean who knows what those cheeky bastards do while assembling my kitchen gadgets. Yesterday I thought a grilled cheese would hit the spot, so I decided to crack open the new kitchen grill. I opened the box and before I even pulled it out, I cuaght a wiff of that new appliance smell. Indeed, it smelled new. Instead of bringing to mind a fresh, crunchy, cheesey samich, I thought of a sandwich that tastes like plastic and styrofoam. Not to mention the possible strep throat that someone left in the box. Classically me, I just closed the box and decided to make it old fashioned style. It was okay, but it didn’t “pack that punch” the boxer’s grill is so famous for. So, When did this happen? I think as I get older, and “know” more, I get more worried about stupid things like this. This brings me back to the pool thing. The other day, the local news warned that swimming in pools could bring on some sort of sickness. There is some sort of virus that you can catch from swimming in poop. It doesn’t seem suprising that there is fecal matter in public pools. Think about it, you are basically swimming in a giant bathtub with tons of kids who do not yet know the importance washing their butts. I know there is lots of chlorine in said cesspools, but that doesn’t seem like enough. The advice given was to change your baby away from the pool and to shower throuroughly before and after swimming. The concequence for not doing this? the possibility of somone swallowing some gross stuff and getting dysentary. Yes, dysentary like in Oregon Trail. The wierdest part of all of this, is that most of us are more that used to swimming in the ocean, lakes, and rivers. What do we think are in those? I guarentee it’s more than human poop and pee pee. Indeed ignorance is truly bliss. So go enjoy summer, hep C and all.

One Response to Two Girls One Pool

  1. karly says:

    Matt and I put swine flu on your knives. happy marriage!

Leave a comment